The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) designates certain areas as Special Flood Hazard Areas. They are also called "100-year floodplains", meaning that a flood has a one percent chance of occurring in any given year. Floodplains are the areas along rivers or streams that have been or may be covered by a flood.

FEMA creates flood insurance rate maps that:

  • Identify where the Special Flood Hazard Areas are likely to occur along major creeks and rivers
  • Are used by insurance companies to establish flood insurance premium rates

Flood Insurance

Most property insurance policies do not cover losses due to flooding. However, the City of Lincoln participates in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). This means that residents can purchase a separate flood insurance policy. This insurance is backed by the federal government and is available to anyone who has property in the City, even if it is not in a Special Flood Hazard Area. 

Homes and businesses located within Special Flood Hazard Areas, that have a federally backed mortgage, require flood insurance policy coverage.

For Flood Insurance Information:

  • Contact your insurance agent
  • Call the NFIP customer service line at 1-800-621-3362
  • Visit the FEMA website

Flood Determination

To see if your property is affected by the new floodplain mapping, please submit a Flood Determination Application.

Flood Determination Request

You will need an Assessor Parcel Number (APN). Please visit the Placer County Website for information.

More Information

What Property Owners Need to Know about Flood Maps– FEMA

Homeowner's Guide to Elevation Certificates – FEMA

Map of FEMA Floodplain Study Locations

Additional Links

FEMA Floodplain Maps

Learn more about FEMA processes to modify flood zone determinations

Placer County's Floodplain Management Website