## About Placer County Local Agency Formation Commission

Local Agency Formation Commissions (LAFCOs) were established in 1963 and are political subdivisions of the State of California responsible for providing regional growth management services in all 58 counties. LAFCOs are comprised of locally elected and appointed officials with regulatory and planning powers delegated by the Legislature to coordinate and oversee the establishment, expansion, and organization of cities, towns, special districts, and their municipal service areas. Among the purposes of LAFCOs are discouraging urban sprawl, preserving open space and prime agricultural lands, efficiently providing governmental services, and encouraging the orderly formation and development of local agencies based upon local conditions.

LAFCOs' authority is codified under the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 ("CKH") with principal oversight provided by the Assembly Committee on Local Government. LAFCO decisions are legislative in nature and therefore are not subject to an outside appeal process. LAFCOs also have broad powers concerning conditioning regulatory and planning approvals without establishing any terms that directly control land uses.

CKH sets out the appointment of the seven members on LAFCO. The Board of Supervisors appoints two representatives and an alternate from its own membership. The Independent Special District Selection committee appoints two representatives and an alternate from among the presiding officers or members of the legislative bodies of the independent special districts in the County. The City Selection Committee appoints two representatives and an alternate from among the mayors or council members of the cities in the County. The other members of the Commission select one representative and an alternate representing the general public.

CKH specifies all commission members shall exercise independent judgment on behalf of the interests of residents, property owners, and the public. Members represent the interests of the public as a whole and not solely the interest of the appointing authority.

Placer LAFCO meets the second Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. in the County Board of Supervisors' Chambers. Commissioners and alternates are paid a \$150/meeting stipend plus expenses and may attend in person or remotely. Commissioners and alternates are encouraged to attend a 3\_day annual conference in the fall (September or October) hosted by the California Association of LAFCOs, CALAFCO. Current Placer LAFCO members are listed below:

Commissioners	Member Type
Trinity Burruss, Chair	City
Cindy Gustafson, Vice-Chair	County
Joshua Alpine	Special District
Shanti Landon	County
Tracy Mendonsa	City
Susan Rohan	Public
Rick Stephens	Special District
Alternate Commissioners	
Jim Holmes	County
William Kahrl	Special District
Jenny Knisley	City
Jeffrey Starsky	Public